watch 02:46
The Quarry - The Loop
Do you like this video?
Play Sound
Unleash | |
---|---|
Keyword Ability | |
Type |
Static (1st ability) Static (2nd ability) |
Introduced | Return to Ravnica |
Last Used | Dragon's Maze |
Reminder Text | Unleash (You may have this creature enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it. It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.) |
Storm Scale | 4[1] |
Statistics |
13 cards |
Scryfall Search | |
oracle:"Unleash" |
Unleash is a keyword ability that was introduced in Return to Ravnica as the mechanic for the Rakdos guild.[2] The reminder text for Unleash reads "You may have this creature enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it. It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.".
Rules[]
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (June 10, 2022—Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate)
- Unleash
- A keyword ability that allows a creature to enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it and stops it from blocking if it has a +1/+1 counter on it. See rule 702.98, “Unleash.”
From the Comprehensive Rules (June 10, 2022—Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate)
- 702.98. Unleash
- 702.98a Unleash is a keyword that represents two static abilities. “Unleash” means “You may have this permanent enter the battlefield with an additional +1/+1 counter on it” and “This permanent can’t block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.”
Examples[]
Example
Grim Roustabout
Creature — Skeleton Warrior
1/1
Unleash (You may have this creature enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it. It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.): Regenerate Grim Roustabout
Rulings[]
- You make the choice to have the creature with unleash enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter or not as it's entering the battlefield. At that point, it's too late for a player to respond to the creature spell by trying to counter it, for example.
- The unleash ability applies no matter where the creature is entering the battlefield from.
- A creature with unleash can't block if it has any +1/+1 counter on it, not just one put on it by the unleash ability.
- Putting a +1/+1 counter on a creature with unleash that's already blocking won't remove it from combat. It will continue to block.
Silver-border[]
One variant of Garbage Elemental has unleash.
References[]
- ↑ Mark Rosewater (May 2, 2016). "Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Billy Moreno (December 14, 2012). "Developing, UNLEASHED". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.